It was a busy day for Bulgaria’s Kubrat Pulev. Shortly after he was ordered to complete sexual harassment course, “The Cobra” KO win over Romania’s Bogdan Dinu on March 23rd was upheld by the California State Athletic Commission and rightfully so, the IBF heavyweight mandatory challenger extended his win column.
Dinu was floored three times in the seventh round of their heavyweight bout in Costa Mesa, California. The first of the three knockdowns also saw Pulev land a right hand well after his adversary hit the canvas. A mandatory eight-count was administered and Pulev was deducted one point by the referee.
Days after that, Greg Cohen (the manager of Bogdan Dinu) filed a protest with the CSAC demanding an overturn of the result because his boxer received illegal hits.
That is, of course laughable, because 99% of the fighters are landing that kind of shot and most of the time – it’s not on purpose.
According to the Association of Boxing Commission (ABC) unified rules, the following applies for intentional fouls:
A. Intentional Fouls
If an intentional foul causes an injury, and the injury is severe enough to terminate the bout immediately, the boxer causing the injury shall lose by disqualification.
If an intentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowed to continue, the referee shall notify the authorities and deduct two
(2) points from the boxer who caused the foul. Point deductions for intentional fouls will be mandatory.
If an intentional foul causes an injury and the bout is allowed to continue, and the injury results in the bout being stopped in any round after the fourth (4th) round, the injured boxer will win by TECHNICAL DECISION if he is ahead on the score cards; and the bout will result in a TECHNICAL DRAW if the injured boxer is behind or even on the score cards.
Pulev is now on 7 matches winning streak, while Dinu has lost his previous two fights via KO.