WBC removes Dillian Whyte’s mandatory status?

The WBC are asking for more information from the British Boxing Board of Control about heavyweight Dillian Whyte’s reported positive test for a banned substance.

The incident happened before his fight last Saturday night against Oscar Rivas. As of now, the WBC are waiting for the BBBofC to provide more information on Whyte’s recent test.

It’s possible that if Whyte’ s B-sample comes up negative. Whyte would likely remain the WBC mandatory, and he would then fight for a world title in 2020.

According to the WBC, they have the power to NOT recognize the result of Whyte’s recent 12 round unanimous decision victory over Rivas (26-1, 18 KOs) in their WBC title eliminator. Whyte would lose his mandatory status at that point, and it would be up to the World Boxing Council if they want to elevate Rivas to that position.

WBC in communication with BBBofC:

“Here’s what wbcmoro told… on the Dillian Whyte situation: “We have initiated conversation with the British Boxing Board for full communication of what occurred, and once we have that information, we will initiate due process. “I don’t want to speculate right now, but we are empowered to rule we are not recognizing this as a result that qualifies the winner for a mandatory title fight,” explained wbcmoro on Dillian Whyte,” said Lance Pugmire.

Source: Boxingnews24

Leave a Reply

History of Karate

Karate (空手) (/kəˈrɑːti/; Japanese pronunciation: [kaɾate] (About this soundlisten); Okinawan pronunciation: [kaɽati]) is a martial

Read More..